Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I'm a complete beginner in the soprano saxophone area so I'm hoping you guys can help me out!
I'm looking for a soprano saxophone to fool around with, no serious playing but at the same time I dont want it to sound like a pig screaming when blowing my horn.

So after looking around on the internet I found this Thomann TSS-350 soprano, EXTREMELY cheap and I found a video of some guy playing it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGi-_zLfwjw and thought that it sounded ok.

I also found this thread; http://forum.saxontheweb.net/showth...na-made-sopranos-Bauhaus-Walstein-and-Thomann
Sure, he prefers the Bauhaus, but it costs alot more (at least where I live) and he doesnt seem to be completely unsatisfied with the TSS-350.

So guys, what do you think, is the TSS-350 something for me? Yes? No? Why not?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
And also, what's a good mouthpiece to go with the TSS-350? The guy in the video is using a Claude Lakey 6*. Worth getting even though Im a beginner?

·
Registered
860 Posts
knappt: As I have said in the other thread, I consider the TSS-350 a decent horn for the price, but I'd rather recommend a Bauhaus Walstein Deluxe (AI). While the two saxes look almost identical (except for the engraving), a lot of tiny details (from pads to body finish to point screws) are not. The BW represents tremendous value for the money, the TSS-350 is cheaper, but not as well balanced for the price (I actually think the BW is the better buy, especially if you're a beginner!). If your budget is limited, though, the TSS-350 can get you started, no question about it. The BW will get you started even better AND is a keeper, no matter where you'll be headed later on.