Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a beautiful vintage Haynes but am thinking about adding a newer horn. What brands, etc. do you all like?

·
Registered
4,078 Posts
I played a lot of stuff between $3-$15k and ended up with a lightly used Muramatsu GX-III. I also liked the Di Zhao Handmade flutes but there are loads of really fine lightly used flutes out there. So that's what I like but don't take it from me. You're a much better flute player than I'll ever be so try as much stuff as you can get your hands on and see what impresses you.

·
Premium Member
1,156 Posts
I’ve been using a Yamaha 744 for the last 20 years with a Dana Sheridan solid silver head joint with the gold lip pate and chimney. I have used the EC head joint that came with it but the Sheridan affords that bit more depth and clarity. I’ve often thought about changing up but this does all I need for my work which includes jazz and orchestral. I did use a Powell Grenadilla head joint for a while but always came back to the Sheridan.
I know Nelson Rangel uses a Yamaha 600 series with a Drelinger head joint and sounds absolutely fabulous.
There are so many beautiful flutes out there and if I could get over the NYC to try some I would. Travel being what it is precludes that. If I was in the US I’d make full use of getting to NY and trying as many as possible. Although I’d probably end up walking out with my 774 :)
Here’s a track I recorded last year with the 774/Sheridan

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
34,346 Posts
You may not NEED to spend so much, although I understand the allure.

Check whether Bruce Bailey is still making/selling his flutes. They are a serious sleeper value. Talk to SimonJazzSax for a review - he is an accomplished flute player and was playing a Bailey flute with a Drelinger head for some time.

Alternatively, you may need a good alto flute more than you realize. :whistle:

·
Registered