Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just looking for some opinions on this Big B tenor (serial 300xxx) for sale. It's about a 1 1/2 hour drive, so I'm trying to decide if it's worth the time.
I'm no expert, but this looks like an obvious relacquer to me. Opinions?
It also looks like not all the snap-in pads are there. The seller is not a sax player and can't give me much information.
All I have are these few pictures to go by. Assuming the horn plays well and only needs some minor adjustments and a couple pads,
what would be a fair price for this tenor? I believe the seller is asking $1200.

Attachments

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
39,552 Posts
Looks not only a relacquer but also a much lighter hue than it probably was . At that price is very cheap and it should hardly matter unless you are a fanatic collector.

How can you say, from pictures that the snap in are not all in there? And even then, does it matter if not for collection purposes?

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Looks not only a relacquer but also a much lighter hue than it probably was . At that price is very cheap and it should hardly matter unless you are a fanatic collector.

How can you say, from pictures that the snap in are not all in there? And even then, does it matter if not for collection purposes?
If you expand the size of the 1st picture, it looks like the F pad is a snap-in, but the E and D are not.
But you are correct, it doesn't really matter as far as playability.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
26,492 Posts
Relacquer. Check it out and if it shows promise, offer $800 cash. And always remember... just because a deal on a vintage horn presents itself, it don't mean we have to bite. There's always another deal out there.

·
Registered
2,543 Posts
If the MPC comes with it and it is an original Ebolin in good condition then that adds another $200 to $300 to the value of the package.

·
Registered
846 Posts