Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 88 Posts

·
Premium Member
990 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been playing alto saxophone on and off for 40+ years and I have always used relatively narrow tip openings whether it be for classical or jazz. Today my setup is and S80 C** (0.068") for classical and a Meyer 5 (0.070"). I'm feel really comfortable with these tip openings and I don't really feel the need to change, but I am curious. In prior mouthpiece safaris I've noticed that in general larger opening mouthpieces had more resistance, were more flexible in pitch and allowed me to play louder. My question concerns whether resistance, flexibility and volume are the only things gained when using a more open tip. For instance, all things being equal are larger openings darker? Does giving the reed a little more distance from any baffle on the mouthpiece cause a darker tone?

·
Grafton + TH & C alto || Naked Lady 10M || TT soprano || Martin Comm III
30,100 Posts
Does giving the reed a littler more distance from any baffle on the mouthpiece cause a darker tone?
Potentially if the chamber volume is increased, however there is a lot more to it than just tip opening because the facing curve is equally as important a parameter in what can shape the sound.

If anyone can find two mouthpieces with different tip openings but exact same facing curve then that may be a more meaningful discussion.

Likewise a larger tip per se does not necessarily mean more resistance or flexibility.

·
Registered
Cannonball Vintage Reborn Tenor Sax with Otto Link STM NY 7
367 Posts
My OL STM NY 7 is darker because of the larger chamber, and not the tip opening.

·
Registered
2,266 Posts