Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Total newby here. Still don’t have a horn to start learning to play. Been learning all I can other ways, but I want to get my hands on a good horn, without spending too much money on a beginner instrument. So when I saw a local auction had a saxophone listed in their estate liquidation this week I decided it was worth taking a look.

I’m quite comfortable with auctions, thanks to being in the antiques trade all my life. So my expectations weren’t too high. I figured I’d probably see a manure encrusted barn find, or a cheap beginners piece with dings and dents and assorted damage. The listing was fairly detailed: “Selmer Tenor saxophone w/ case - 30" body with Paris stamp -Great Condition, good shape!“ but knowing auctioneers tend to fluff their listings I expected to find a Bundy fresh from band camp.

Boy was I wrong!

Climbed the stairs to the third-floor hall, in a building that might predate the invention of the saxophone. Nice small town country auction. While I was previewing the auctioneer started selling box lots; first bidder to offer a dollar buys the lot. Then he moved into the back of the hall, struggling to get thirty or fifty bucks for an entire Ethan Allen bedroom. Gave me some hope that at least the selling price might be low enough to be worth taking a chance...

It was easy to find the saxophone. It was up front, center stage in front of the podium. Gleaming gold. Not lacquer, gold. With extensive and exquisite engraving. Mother of pearl keys. Gorgeous. Body and neck, both clean, undamaged, almost immaculate. No mouthpiece. Pads looked good, not new but not bad by appearance at least. Cork was not new but not deteriorated, just used. Action was smooth, light, seemingly precise to my untutored touch. Serial number 49xxx. Did I mention, it was gold, with elaborate engraving? Yeah, it was that good. Had to mention it again.