Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
JS Crescent, JS NOS, Selmer SBA, Couf Superba I, Conn, Buescher, King
1,453 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was going to do this as an article, but I'm never going to have that much time, so I'm putting it here in plebe form in the interest of undoing some bad consensus thinking.

To begin, two recordings of two 10Ms with close serial numbers that would have very different sale expectations online (whether sold by me directly, on eBay by me or someone else, on Reverb, here on this forum, or in any format whatsoever that doesn't include playtesting).

https://soundcloud.com/justsaxes%2Fsets%2Fa-tale-of-two-10ms-on-relacquers-sound-samples-consensus-and-misconceptions
I'm new to the recording equipment I'm using, and didn't intend to put so much reverb on the 1st recorded track (the higher serial number), but by the time I realized I was recording with the reverb live the whole 1st track was done, so rather than redo it I just did everything the same for the 2nd track.

The recording equipment is a good quality CAD mic, running into an M-Audio air, into a minim Mac, recorded on Garage band.

The second recording doesn't include any notes while playing because they're all on the first recording. There are mistakes. That's an indicator of how unedited these clips are.

As always a disclaimer in advance: I'm not a good player. If poor playing offends or traumatizes you, it's probably advisable to skip listening.

·
Registered
1,300 Posts