Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I lost my Ray Hyman (alto/tenor) neck strap that I used for decades and did not realize how perfect it was until I tried what is out there, including a new Hyman strap. As a teacher, I have noticed the majority of straps are highly annoying for various reasons. I have searched ebay and internet outlets with no luck. I noticed a poster in 2010 with the same issue who was able to find one. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Discombobulated SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 201
9,739 Posts
I lost my Ray Hyman (alto/tenor) neck strap that I used for decades and did not realize how perfect it was until I tried what is out there, including a new Hyman strap. As a teacher, I have noticed the majority of straps are highly annoying for various reasons. I have searched ebay and internet outlets with no luck. I noticed a poster in 2010 with the same issue who was able to find one. Any help would be appreciated.
You might want to post a "wanted" listing in the marketplace with the details of what you are looking for. If I recall correctly, the issue is that the modern ones have plastic rather than metal hardware?

·
Registered
1,587 Posts
RB Jazz,

First of all, hello from a fellow Utican, now living up on the St. Lawrence River.

Second, I can't tell you where to buy a strap like what you are looking for, but I thought that I would chime in that I am using the same 2 Ray Hymans that I have had ever since the late 70's. I have a white one in my Alto case and a black one in my Tenor case. If I play both horns on a particular gig I wear them both and switch rather than to readjust the strap. I have always been happy with them.

I did switch briefly to a different kind on Tenor (don't even remeber the brand name now) but didn't use it for long.

Good luck with your search.

·
Forum Contributor 2012, SOTW Saxophone Whisperer,
3,209 Posts