Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I missed out on the Keilwerth SX90, what is SOTW thoughts on a Keilwerth Intermediate (Excalibur or ST 90) as compared to a Yamaha 52?

I'm about to pull the trigger on the Yamaha...thoughts?

Thanks!

·
Forum Contributor 2007-2012, Distinguished SOTW Te
3,314 Posts
I believe the Yamaha was a pro sax back when it was released- the Keilwerth never was. I am a fan of Keilwerth pro horns, but not their student/intermediate models so much.

I've worked on quite a few 52s, and although they are built a bit oddly compared to most horns, they are pro through and through.

My opinion is go for the YAS52.

·
Registered
227 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, abadcliche! I've been plowing through a lot of research and looking at JK's, Yamaha 52's and Selmers. The Yamaha 52's are going crazy on EBAY! I'm gonna buy one for $800. The Selmer intermediate horns are just too much money for me. Plus, I've heard the Yamaha 52's are fairly close to 62's...but not quite.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2014
4,315 Posts
I just sold a 52 for 750...wish I had known you were looking for one...it played great.

C

·
0 Posts
As someone who earlier told you to go with the SX 90. Now I would have to go with the Yamaha. I as said earlier, Yamaha is IMHO the best when it comes to building a high value intermediate. The 52 is a very nice intermediate, but I would not call it a pro horn. It lacks the better neck and annealed bells that the pro horns have. Still, it's one of the best horns available at an intermediate price range. If you buy it right, you can be sure to sell it later for close to your purchase price, maybe more.

Give it a go before it's gone too !

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2008
4,046 Posts
My personal suggestion is to go with neither.

Wait until you've got a little more money and you can get the horn you want.

What's your budget?

·
Registered