Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ywlK_XRm0H8

im a drummer, but, this is a youtube of some of my gig tapes while living in new york 78-85

on two parts , very beggining and second to last is steve grossman
on three parts is alex foster
on one part is bunky green

and, they are burning. anyone who plays sax , should really apreciete the abilities of these sax monsters

that is why im bringing this into this sax forum. its also a good referance to how we played back then in new york, very differant from now

·
Registered
8,028 Posts
Thanks. Sometimes I think there’s only a few here who got to hear Grossman play live. A force of nature.
The energy of his playing was something you really need to have witnessed live. It was always balls out.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,580 Posts
Alex Foster is the man, no one talks about him. He's good friends with my teacher so I've been hip to him for a while.

·
Registered
2,328 Posts
Thank you very much! Alex Foster played with Elvin Jones, Donald Byrd, Carla Bley Big Band and many others. Wonderful player. If there's anyone here not familiar with Steve Grossman, you might want to search past threads. He gets discussed fairly often.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
4,580 Posts
Thank you very much! Alex Foster played with Elvin Jones, Donald Byrd, Carla Bley Big Band and many others. Wonderful player.
Yep, Jaco as well. That is how my teacher met him, he played in Jaco's big band with Alex. Funny story, my teacher was kicked off stage by Elvin Jones when just starting out in NYC as he was told by Elvin "You don't know ****, do you?" (he kept missing a weird change in a modified blues progression during a jam session)

·
Discombobulated SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 201
9,736 Posts