Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The title kind of says it. I finished my masters in Jazz Performance a few years ago. I looked around for a teaching gig right in the middle of when schools were laying off teachers, particularly music teachers, so I didn't find any work.

At the time, we had a daughter a little over a year old (now we have two kids) and I couldn't justify spending money on daycare just so that I could practice. My wife works a lot of hours including nights and weekends, so I decided to do the stay at home dad thing thinking that I would still get in some practice time during naps or after the kids are asleep.

The reality of it is that I just don't get much practice time in. I play gigs pretty regularly but I'm getting into that downward spiral of not practicing enough to have confidence in my playing to go looking for more gigs.

I'm also getting that frustrated feeling on gigs where I know I used to be able to play things that I can't pull off anymore.

All this has gotten me thinking that maybe I should take a break from playing till I can get time to shed again. I would still do gigs with my rock band but besides that the horn would pretty much stay in the case except for to keep my chops up to do the gigs.

Strange thing is that I don't know if this would be depressing or liberating, not having that constant nagging to get time in on the horn.

So that's where I am these days. I would appreciate any incite that others may have who have been in similar situations.

·
Forum Contributor 2016, Distinguished SOTW Member
12,802 Posts