Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am a newbie here. I have played an alto sax about 25 years ago in school and it just wasnt for me at the time so I switched to guitar. I have played guitar for 25 years, at a professional level for about 18 years.

I have had a desire to buy a tenor sax and relearn to play sax. my goal is to be able to play some pop rock tunes that have sax parts so I can use it in gigs for a few tunes. not looking to be a pro in a week. but something to work at and get about 6 or 7 tunes that I can master to use in a band I play in.

I am thinking about tunes like:

You belong to the City - Glen Frey
Bad to the bone - George Thorogood
Harden my Heart - Quarterflash
Take me home tonight - Eddie money
California Dreamin (Beach boys version)
Dogs of war - pink floyd

I am thinking a tenor sax would be the best choice for these tunes.....? am I correct? or not?

If you think I am dreaming and these tunes are too tuff, please tell me. One problem may be that I am so used to just figuring any song out on guitar, that I can learn anything very easily, and I have to remember I have NO skills as a sax player, so its all new ground. but I truly think I can do it and learn.

anyhow, I am looking for ANY advice you can give. I need to buy a sax, and get some instruction. I live in a rural area and nobody gives lessons, so I am thinking maybe web based lessons or DVDs would work???

I am thinking of spending up to $1000 for a good used sax. I would like to find a good used one that I can jump right in playing and not have to have fixed up. the only brands I am familiar with are yamaha and selmer. I would appreciate any advice on what to buy and where to buy one (or more importantly, where NOT to buy one). what do I look for? any potential issues? problems? good mouth pieces? reeds? cleaning supplies?

am I way out of reason here? or are my ideas and goals reasonable??