Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi:

I am new to this forum. Great information here. I am a rookie player but would very much like to use a horn I can keep for a long time.

I went to music store and they have the yamaha for around 1200. I have a friend whos father is selling a keilwerth (?) sx90. It is in exc. shape. He said it is a pro horn and would sell it to me for 1200.

Which is the better choice? Or is there another avenue I should go?

Thanks

·
Distinguished SOTW Columnist/Official SOTW Guru
3,764 Posts
You're best choice might possibly be to look up a teacherin your area and ask your friend's father to letyou take the SX 90 to your new teacher for a play-test. Both are good horns, forget the whole beginner horn/pro horn thing. You might sound different on one than you do on the other, but you won't sound better on one than you do on the other.
Go for a well set up, well adjusted horn.

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, I did that today (brought sx90 to shop)..since I really dont know what Im looking for etc..

Anyway, the tech said the sx90 is in exc shape. Needs a few pads replaced, but otherwise 100%..

so, what should I go with? YAS23 or Keilworth sx90) same price (give or take 100.00)

thanks all

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
great! I will pick up the sx90 then. The tech even mentioned that it was more of a high end horn.

Hopefully I can get it for even alittle less.

Thx

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,936 Posts
You're already getting a decent buy. Don't poison the deal with zealous dickering.

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
No, I wouldnt do that..its my best friends father who owns it and I think he may take another 100.00 off without asking ....since its me (known him since I was 6)...

Will post some pics if I get a chance this weekend//...thanks guys

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,936 Posts