Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have almost completed the restoration on My 20' Conn Bari.As I was dry fitting the upper stack I couldn't resist giving her a try.Very cool, much improved tone and very in tune on lower notes, hit the octave key, 25 cents sharp.This is with the vintage streamline, maybe a 40's Bundy. I had better intonation before taking all the dents out of the upper loop.Also all tone holes are now leveled and leak free.From previous suggestions I feel I should work on my Bari embouchure to see if I can tame this mp.I am still a beginner on Bari and my mp's on Tenor and Alto are very slim,Runyon Custom's.Any thoughts ?

Attachments

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
27,265 Posts
There's a ton of info on this site regarding these horns and their intonational quirks. Just search for my posts with the word "pickle-barrel". No modern mouthpiece is going to work unless it has a vintage, bass-like sized chamber and/or an extended shank. Forget Runyon. Been there, done that.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
19,007 Posts

·
Registered
1,073 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hold on there, pardners....

The horn was relatively in-tune on the lower register, but the upper reg went sharp.

http://forum.saxontheweb.net/showth...-shaaaarp-!!!!&highlight=upper+register+sharp

May not be the mouthpiece... although in my experience a change in m'piece may mask the dynamic a bit...but that old Bundy should be a relatively large-chambered one, no ?
The Bundy is a large chamber,still curious about the change to the upper loop.Would removing dents have any effect on tuning ? I do notice the MP is pulled back more almost falling off. I do have the luxury of trying a friends Conn Eagle (Pickle barrel from 20's I believe)

You can see in picture the rough loop if you zoom in,the old cork shows where the Bundy was playing before overhaul,it is at least a 1/2" out now.

Attachments