Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone hows it going. My names Stuart and I'm new to SOTW although I have been lurking the site for a few days. So I have been playing for roughly 6 months and I'm just curious as to where I should be at on my saxophone. I practice daily and have made many giant leaps in my playing but I still have nothing to compare my self too because im not in any sort of band. I was just wondering if there was any teachers or students on here that have some examples of sheet music that should be around my skill level.

Thanks!

p.s im just starting to learn improv so any tips on that would be much appreciated

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,440 Posts
Stuart: Welcome to SOTW AND to the saxophone. You need to tell us more about yourself . . . where you live, your age, musical tastes and goals, lessons taken, equipment you are using (sopranino, contra-bass), etc. Do you want to play old jazz, new jazz, R&B, etc.? DAVE

·
6,715 Posts
Welcome Stuart.
At the risk of being a bore I would recommend Major & Minor scales....all of them, and to be able to play chromatically & cleanly throughout the range.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·