Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing a Yamaha YTS-62 since high school (over ten years now). My tech had a couple horns for sale on commission, a King and an SML Gold Medal. I was mostly curious about the King but tried them both and ended up buying the SML. $2.5k Canadian.
It sounds darker and dirtier than the Yamaha, at least that's how I describe it. Altissimo works reasonably well, though I'm fairly new at playing in that range. I got it today and I played a gig with it tonight.

Since I got it from my tech I know everything is good with it, and he did a couple setup things on the bench in front of me. I got a new neck cork. I had him add a new strap hook so it would hang balanced on the strap. I had him leave the original one and just add another one instead of moving it.

The serial number chart puts it at 1973. It is the two tone finish, brass with nickel plated keys.

I've always wanted a Selmer Paris but I don't think I'll be able to justify the cost any time soon and it seems some people prefer the SML anyway.
View attachment 228738
View attachment 228740
View attachment 228742

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
12,702 Posts
I love my Selmer but just because of the name they are not the end all in horns.

Once you hit a certain level of quality in a horn the rest is personal preference.

Looks to me like you are set. Congrats!

Be happy and dont look back.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013-
5,431 Posts
What a beautiful horn.

I have always been fascinated by these.

Congratulations!

·
Registered
696 Posts
what model was the king. if it was a marigaux, that would have been interesting to play the two side by side

·
Registered
52 Posts
Congratulations for the new horn, it has anice patina and looks beautiful. Enjoy it, play it and preserv it for the years to come and the many gigs. Cheers

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #10