Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to the forum here, and let me say this, it is a great forum:) I have been playing alto, tenor, and bari sax for about 6 years now.
Anyways, I did a performance for my school about a year ago, and when I heard the recording of it I wasnt exactly thrilled about my sound, to me it sounds a bit buzzy or something. Im trying to find my unique sound, which right now is a funk/fusion sound that Im going after. As an example maybe like Grover Washington, Jr.'s tenor sound on Live at The Bijou, not exactly (obviously), but something like that, kind bright and edgy. Right now I have a yamaha yts-62ii with an sr tech fusion 115 mpc with stock rovner lig and vandoren java 2.5 reeds. Could there be a setup to try, or am I in need of just practicing more. Heres the video of the performance. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ctBbt7O-BhM

peace

·
Registered
5 Posts
Cool recording. I don't think your tone is too buzzy - just keep working on your embouchure. I'm not familiar with the mouthpiece you're playing on, but from my experience the Java reeds can be buzzy; I prefer hemke reeds if I'm looking for a cleaner, darker sound. Also.. Tune the guitars! Lol.

·
Banned
1,611 Posts
Welcome to the forum!!
This is a rather large peanut gallery, but here's my 2 cents. Try an RPC 115 B mouthpiece and a Hahn 2.0 or 2.5 strength reed.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,922 Posts
I also like the RPC, however from the video I'd say there's nothing you need that can't come from you. Your tone is good but I can hear two areas to work on for a start: articulation and vibrato (even if you only want to use vibrato very sparingly, it will really help the expression).

However articulation is often an underrated factor in moulding your sound, although it only affect the front of a note, it is what sticks in the listeners memory.