Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Do you have some "listening" suggestions for the new generation of tenor players?

I'm listening to Tony Malaby, Rick Margitza, Donny McCaslin, Ellery Eskelin.

Who else?



********
Thanks to everybody!

UPDATED LIST

Albert Beger http://www.albertbeger.com/
Andrew Lamb http://www.svo-ny.org/page.php?page=9
Andy Sheppard http://www.andysheppard.co.uk/
Antoine Roney http://www.planetcrossings.com/Site/Home.html
Ari Ambrose
Branford Marsalis http://www.branfordmarsalis.com/branford/intro.cfm
Brice Winston http://bricewinston.com/
Chris Cheek http://www.chrischeek.net/
Chris Potter http://www.chrispottermusic.com/
Dave O'Higgins http://daveohiggins.com/
Dimitri Vassilakis http://www.dimitriosvassilakis.com/
Donny Mccaslin http://www.donnymccaslin.com/
Ellery Eskelin http://home.earthlink.net/~eskelin/
Eric Alexander http://www.ericalexanderjazz.com/
Emanuele Cisi http://www.emanuelecisi.com/
Grant Langford http://www.langfordjazz.com/
Grant Stewart http://www.grantstewartjazz.com/
Greg Osby http://www.gregosby.com/
Ingrid Laubrock http://www.ingridlaubrock.com/pages/home.htm
Jamie Oehlers http://www.jamieoehlers.com/
Jeff Coffin http://www.jeffcoffin.com
Jerome Sabbagh http://www.jeromesabbagh.com/
Joel Frahm http://www.joelfrahm.com/
John Ellis http://www.johnaxxonellis.com
Jonas Kullhammar http://www.kullhammar.com/
Julian Siegel http://www.juliansiegel.com/
Kelly Jefferson http://www.kellyjefferson.net/
Ken Vandermark http://www.kenvandermark.com/
Marcus Strickland http://www.marcusstrickland.com/
Mark Shim http://www.nujazzcity.com/markshim.html
Mark Turner
Matthieu Donarier
Marius Neset http://www.jazzkamikaze.com/
Michael Blake http://www.michaelblake.net/
Olivier Temime
Pete Wareham
Phil Bancroft
Ravi Coltrane http://www.ravicoltrane.com/
Rick Margitza
Seamus Blake http://www.seamusblake.com/
Theo Travis http://www.theotravis.com/
Tim Garland http://www.timgarland.com/
Tommy Smith http://www.tommy-smith.co.uk/
Tony Malaby http://www.tonymalaby.com/
Wayne Escoffery http://www.escofferymusic.com/
Yannik Rieu http://www.yannickrieu.com/
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
244 Posts
You're probably already all over Chris Potter and Ravi Coltrane, both deep masters as young men. Ditto Josh Redman and Branford Marsalis.

So I'd recommend Marcus Strickland and Mark Turner. Brice Winston, who plays with Terrence Blanchard, is slayin' too.

Is Antoine Roney in "the new generation?" Killin' player . . . he's about Margitza's age (which, FWIW, is my age and it's hard for me to think of 46 as "the new generation").

Have fun!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,525 Posts
Dagsax said:
Who else?
Have you checked out Michael Blake, this CD in particular:



Since you have some artists that you're digging I would recommend entering their names in AMG and following the links for similar artists etc. This can lead to some interesting discoveries.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
144 Posts
Check out some Greg Osby. It took me a while to get into his playing, but he has a very unique approach. I got to see him giving a masterclass class year, and he was talking about his influences and how he always wanted get the "two-handed" sound of a pianist on the saxophone. I'd say check out his website, last I was there, there are a bunch of live recordings with Mark Turner for free download.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,174 Posts
Eric Alexander
Ellery Eskelin
Mark Shim
Dave O'Higgins
Tim Garland
Yannik Rieu
Pete Wareham
Olivier Temime
Jerome Sabbagh
Ken Vandermark
Tommy Smith
Jamie Oehlers
Seamus Blake
Dimitri Vassilakis
Andy Sheppard
Matthieu Donarier
Ari Ambrose
Jonas Kullhammar
Andrew Lamb
Theo Travis
Albert Beger
Phil Bancroft
All worth checking out
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
I would like to second, third, and fourth the Joel Frahm suggestion.
He came to UW Milwaukee with Pete Zimmers group to do a clinic a year or two ago and just cooked.
 

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
Joined
·
5,316 Posts
Al Stevens said:
Yes. Tell them to listen to Ben, Zoot, Stan, Prez, Bean, Jug, and Dexter.
FWIW, Ditto. Also, Grant Stewart and Bob Mintzer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Amazing to see Yannick Rieu's name mentioned here. A fantastic player in Montreal who doesn't even get much recognition in Canada, let alone outside of it. Another Canadian who should be checked out is Kelly Jefferson.
 
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
Top