Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So here we have my new Alto... A New Super Dearman which cost me £100 (plus £20 for postage) which i will be restoring, so i thought I would start my first ever thread on SOTW for you guys to have a look at all the goings on :) I am a novice at this and have never stripped a sax before... I will probably be shot by a few of you guys for even attempting it but, I am pretty good at things like this (he says nervously...) and I have a tech on standby to put it all back together again with new pads, springs, corks, and felts as well as a full set up, all in exchange for reasonable upset to my bank balance.... The pads were all completly useless, so would of needed changing either way so what better time to delacquer the sax and get that raw brass look that we all love ;)

As you can see, she is a bit weathered to say the least! So the perfect chance to give her a complete overhaul!
View attachment 70902

The lacquer is looking rather sorry for itself... Something of a patchwork quilt!
View attachment 70910

Now I know this isn't exactly the best fit, but with a bit of tossing and turning I did remove all the lacquer... Eventually...
View attachment 70909

So now the polishing begins, for this i am using autosol and as you can see it brings it up really nice :)
View attachment 70911

Several hours of polishing later......
View attachment 70913

This is as far as I have got at this point, I have decided to give my fingers a break for a day and let the skin and pin holes from the springs heal and I will be back on it tomorrow evening whilst enjoying a couple of well earned cans!!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,031 Posts
Hi Ben,

Looks like fun ! I particularly like the shot in the cooking pot.