Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all
This is my first post. I've been playing alto for the past 7 years, and I really want to get into the soprano. Originally I was going to get the Yamaha YSS-475II, I played it, it was comfortable, sounded great.. but being in Australia, things (including saxes) tend to be on the unusually expensive side, and was looking at paying $2600 for a new one. I had a look around, and there is a shop in Victoria selling a used YSS-61 for $1600. The sax isn't in super condition, there is lacquer coming off, and dents as well (see the attached images). They specify that would need a general service to play top notch. They offer a 100% refund, but seeing as I'd need to pay to get it service, I'd rather not. My question is, would it be wiser to buy the new 475, or get the 61 and have it fixed up?
Thanks
Al

·
Undistinguished SOTW Member
723 Posts
PM sent.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the advice SiB, I have looked at the yanis with interest, but have been unable to test them out yet. Unfortunately I live in Australia, and the seller is unwilling to post outside the US, so I won't be able to go for it. The other downside is, that even if I did find a good sax with int. postage, you have to pay outrageous fees for anything over $1000. If I were to buy a sax from overseas, it would have to be pretty good to warrant going through import taxes. In any case, I will probably steer away from the 61.
Thanks again for the help

·
Registered
543 Posts
You could get a new Phil Barone soprano. They sell for around $US1350 to 1400. There is no import duty into Australia, but you may be up for some GST. Even if you had to pay GST on the whole amount it would only add about $140. Then there is postage. I bought a tenor from him, and I have never looked back.

·
Registered
328 Posts
Alex,

Your best bet is to buy online, either used on eBay, or from a dealer internationally.