Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I started sax about four months ago and am really, really enjoying it. However I think it is safe to say that I am still a complete noob. I am looking to purchase a new saxophone though, as I have been borrowing my friend's Yamaha 62. I like to play a lot of music but the few things that I will not be playing are R & B, Classic and smooth jazz. I absolutely despise those genres (with many notable exceptions of course). I would also like to point out that my primary instruments are guitar and piano. I can spend up to 1,400 bucks. I've been told to get a vintage conn by somebody, don't know how good of a decision this is.

Thanks everybody!

Derek

·
Distinguished SOTW member/, Official SOTW Sister
19,337 Posts
If you like the Yamaha, get a Yamaha.
Vintage Conns are nice, but the pinkey keys can be hard to get used to.
I would suggest checking out the selections in your price range at a few music shops.
Find what feels good in your hands, sounds good to your ears, and go from there.
Take your buddy along to help you.
Having another player with you to try the horn and be a second pair of ears is a good idea when purchasing your first horn.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,715 Posts
With only four month's playing behind you, I would strongly advise you to wait.
With all respect, you do not yet have enough experience to really know what you want.
Wait until your tone develops & you will be in a better decision to decide.

You may well make a decision that you will later regret.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you, and I think that you are correct in saying that I don't know what I really want yet but I am borrowing this saxophone and school ends tomorrow and he has told me that I can not continue to borrow it in the summertime. So I just need a saxophone soon. And thank you, I will keep that in mind.

·
Registered
49 Posts