Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello SOTW community. I need some advice. I am not a pro...played a lot in middle school and HS, and played in bands in college and had a few serious bouts w practicing and embouchure development as an adult....in any case, I am coming off quite a big hiatus. I bought a new (used) horn a couple of years ago (alto reference 54) and now that I'm feeling primed for another bout of practicing I want to take the horn in to a tech. I'm having some issues w the neck being too loose...I made it a tad better by cleaning the screw hole, but it's still too loose. Also I want to make sure all the pads are sealing well. The guy I bought the horn from seemed like an amateur type...I wouldn't be surprised if the horn has never ever had any sort of service So, when I take it in to the shop, what intelligent suggestions can I make to the tech? Obviously I don't need major work, but I'd like to be smart about it. I am a tad neurotic about care for my equipment. I will mention the neck, and the pads, but what else should I direct him to for what might presumably be the debut service trip for this sax? Also. I'd like to sound like I know what I'm talking about so he takes the whole thing seriously and doesn't just overcharge me for simple work.
Thanks all.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
32,949 Posts
Ask the tech to optimize the tenon fit, and inspect for leaks.

If it truly has never had any maintenance, it might actually need to have the key height set right. If you play each note against a tuner, are they all in tune? Write down which ones are off, and by how much, and ask if the tech can adjust key heights to optimize intonation. The horn should probably be stripped down, and lubricated. If the tech just puts a drop of oil at the contact points, that won't work. See Matt Stohrer's YouTube regarding proper lubrication.

Enjoy that horn!

·
Registered
3,019 Posts