Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone know where to find New Orleans Dixie, Brass Band Charts? Dirty Dozen, Rebirth etc. Cheers

·
Registered
913 Posts
[looking too!!!
QUOTE=Saxman11;3848694]Anyone know where to find New Orleans Dixie, Brass Band Charts? Dirty Dozen, Rebirth etc. Cheers[/QUOTE]

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2015-
33,552 Posts
Isn’t that antithetical to the tradition?

It seems so wrong.

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Isn’t that antithetical to the tradition?

It seems so wrong.

You do have a point there...in my life as a Canadian Forces Musician I play a wide variety of music, with musicians of various backgrounds...these sorts of charts give us a starting point...and offer a learning platform as well...Cheers

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician
26,480 Posts
Having played now for a year with a New Orleans style brass band with players of differing skill levels, I can pretty much tell you that even if you could find charts, they would only hinder you. Most songs are only one or two chords and you'll take longer to memorize them if you rely upon written arrangements. We practice as a group, play a recording of the song we want to learn and then help each other out in figuring out the parts for them. With this process we can get a song mostly down in a night, reinforce it at the next practice and perform it after that. The same players that may have needed everything written down seem to get the hang of this pretty quick; and not surprisingly, still have to check their music for the stuff they learned by written arrangement (which were done by a member in the past).