Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using a Jody Jazz DV NY for the past ten years. I got it in high school (10 years ago) when I was playing mostly jazz. More recently I've been playing more rock and blues. But still jazz sometimes. And I've recently been able to get the rock and roll growl working, and hit some altissimo notes. I really like the jody piece, but went to a local music store to try something a bit different. I was looking for something maybe a bit brighter, and something that was louder and could cut through better at jams. I wasn't expecting to get something. The jody mouthpiece was about $600 when I got it, and I couldn't justify that kind of money on another piece. I tried a few pieces, including a Warburton, that was marked down to $150CND because they said it had been there forever. It seemed to do exactly what I was looking for. It didn't play overly different from the jody (as opposed to the metal link, which played very differently), but it had the differences I was looking for.

After getting home, I was reading on this site about the Warburton, and I found the older ones were hand finished by Eric Falcon. In another thread, he said he signed his initials on all mouthpieces he finished. I couldn't find those initials. But I talked to another sax player I know who worked at the store I got more than 5 years ago. He said he would have ordered the piece for them when Eric was working at Warburton so it should be finished by him.

I need to reconsider what reeds I use now. I was using a rico royal 3.5 on the jody. But they were feeling stuffy on the Warburton. I dug up a La Voz MH reed and it played a lot better. I used the la voz when I played on an HR Link, before I had the jody. But they sounded very gritty and coarse with the jody. But they feel about right with the Warburton.