Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi,

I like modern saxophone :
  • I can't live without a F# key (to get my altissimo G)
  • I have small hands so I can't play old horn like a Selmer CigarCut for example (I tried one)
  • I need good ergonomic, tuning
I've been playing a T901 for 12 years now and I'd like to have a "more" professional horn but the price tag for the TWO20 or a new selmer is super high.
Besides it seems that new horns lose a LOT of their value once you buy it. Make may be wonder if I should try to find a second hand series 3 or SA80, what's your opinion?

·
Registered
1,381 Posts
A T901 is a professional horn. You can't find one that's "more professional." If you feel like you'd prefer a Selmer then find one, but it'd be sideways movement, not up. Whether you like it better comes down to personal preference.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2010
3,310 Posts
I second that the T901 is a perfectly fine horn. What makes you want a change? Maybe you just need to spend some of that new horn money on a tune up of your old friend to get it back in tip top shape.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,888 Posts
I totally agree, unless you have identified something about your T901 that doesn't allow you to play professionally on it, I would advise to stick with it. Even then, whatever is wrong can be fixed by a good tech to make it professional again.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm very pleased with my T901, it is in good shape (checked every year). It's probably a GAS but recently I tried a series 3 and it felt easy to play (keys action, ergonomy). Of course I recorded my self playing the series 3 and it sounds very similar to my T901 (of course same player)

Anyway, my question is more general : If I had to buy a horn, why would I buy a new one as there are some nice second hand and the value of newer sax drops quickly?

·
Registered
918 Posts