Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow flute players!

I'm new here, and sorta fresh to the "piccolo world". I've been playing for about 2 years and going to be a senior in high school. I'll get straight to the point and skip the intro. I was wondering how good emerson's are, because I ordered a Gem. 4s I believe and it was a nightmare for me to play. The embrochure hole was square as apposed to my armstrong which is more round. The moral of the story was that I could hardly hit notes in the third octave and was horrible to tune (granted I think it was my adjustment to the lip plate). I'm used to playing on an entirely plastic armstrong piccolo and the transition for me was bad. I could hardly play the stars and stripes solo on it.

So back to the point lol, can you guys give me your opinions on the emerson p3 piccolo. This is going to be my marching instrument and I'll keep my armstrong for concert and solo performances

http://www.wwbw.com/Emerson-P3-Piccolo-i71313.music

Thanks
*Javi~

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,290 Posts
The P3 is a great piccolo. I sold them for years but now I sell one from China that is plastic with the metal head. Fantastic easy players. It is the only thing imported I sell and have sold dozens. Setup and ready to go they are $180. Beyond that look for a good used Gemeinhardt as they have decent piccolos, far better than their flutes.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
so then I'll be ok with this one for marching season ? I ordered it wit the two head joints becuase it was oddly cheaper...

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
844 Posts
Well, you already ordered it. So try it out and see what YOU think. If it meets your needs, then everyone elses opinion is really irrevalent. :)

Please keep in mind, that intonation is very important! Make sure the pic plays in tune!!!!! You might ask your director and/or private lesson teacher for some guidance here.