Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First I want to appologize for the long thread because I know it will be. (Please skip to the (Ok now to the question) part if you dont want to read all this lol. I have been lurking here for about a year and I love this forum. I started playing the tenor at about the same time. The things I have already learned directly from this forum are:
1) Longtones, longtones, longtones
2) You will develop G.A.S
3) Get an instructor
4) The further you move from your mouth the less the equipment changes the sound
5) Reed strenth is not a measure your manhood
6) Your tone/intonation is of utmost importance and wont come easy
7) Practice, practice, practice

My setup is a Trevor James Revolution tenor with a Morgan 3C/Vandoran blue box #2. I bought it new and had it checked out. It was good to go.

Now for a little of the back story. I originally played with the stock no-name mouthpiece and although it wasnt bad, I wanted something a little darker. I decided on the Morgan 3C. Over the short time I have been playing I worked my way up to a #3 reed because the 2/2.5 sounded too buzzy to me. I heard that moving up may help that. Well it did and I liked the sound I got from the #3. However, I soon realized that I was having to contort my throat, tongue, and lip-up so much for some of the higher notes like E and F (not altissmo of course) that I must be doing something wrong. So I believe I was lipping-up so much it may have been biting. I always start my session with longtones and had been practicing decresendo but again was having to really contort my throat/tongue and HAD to lip-up to do this. I have recently been reading that you really should be able to do it with just your air pressure/volume.