Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yo

Recently bought a 60s Martin Magna (Similar to a Committee iii) tenor. I'd never played a sax in my life before playing this one (I'm mainly a guitarist) but I was researching them a lot before buying and read that they're pretty sought after.

I've decided to have it overhauled because I only paid £700 for it (what would people normally think to pay for one?). Anyone else here play one? What mpc do you use? I picked up a link STM #6 for it, (any opinions on a link on a martin)? For an idea of what sort of sound I like, Pharoah and Trane are my top two players, (I know it takes more than equipment to achieve this)...

I'll get some better photos when its back from the techs.

Cheers

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Forum Contributor 2009
3,286 Posts
Nice horn! Link + Martin works great, you should have an excellent starting setup to learn. Good luck, have fun!

·
Registered
566 Posts
Yes, you definitely already have the right setup. You did good! Did it really need an overhaul?

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yes, you definitely already have the right setup. You did good! Did it really need an overhaul?
Yeah, I think so. When the guy sold it to me he said I could probably do with getting it overhauled / serviced. I've taken it to a tech who was recommended by a mate of mine and the tech said yeah it could probably do with a good service and a repad cause she has a few dents, leaks, and rattles. Looking forward to getting her back though. Also man, how do I delete a comment once I've made it, I can't see a button for it anywhere.

Cheers

Buster

·
Administrator
13,985 Posts