Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,393 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK I'm a relative beginner at the sax and although I sometimes like to listen to classical music and have attended a reasonable number of classical concerts I've not got any classical training whatsoever and my sight reading isn't great either.

So far on the sax I've stuck to learning blues and jazz standards and doing all the standard stuff like long tones, scales, etc, etc, but I'd like to just try a classical piece just for the experience of it. I particularly like baroch music like Bach's Brandenburg Concerto and cello suites and I like passionate and dynamic movement like in Bruch's violin concerto for example, although I'm not very well educated in classical music.

Is there a piece that someone can recommend I try that isn't too difficult and that I could find the sheet music for and have a go at (unaccompanied)?

Thanks guys :)

·
Registered
1,325 Posts
You could have a go at some Oboe pieces; the range is identical and there is a HUGE repertoire available. It takes considerable skill to play Baroque and Classical music with the required precision of articulation and phrasing on the tenor sax.

The available literature is enormous, but something by JS Bach or CPE Bach, Teleman or Loeilet (sp?) or the lovely Cimarosa Concerto (arr Arthur Benjamin) would all fit the bill.

I know these are not 'Sax' pieces, but they are IMO a good place to start simply because they are some fantastic music.

·
Registered
1,393 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Dave. I definitely need "simple" because I'd say that two of my weakest points are phrasing and articulation, so in fact learning one or two classical pieces might be very good for me. I do not mind in the least whether it's written for sax or not, but I would definitely need to be able to get hold of a recording of it so I can hear what it's meant to sound like.

·
Registered
784 Posts