Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member.
8,537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Has anyone ever re-plated a sax?

I understand Anderson in Elkhart has a good reputation, but they won't give me general information until I send my sax up to them.

I have 2 tenor saxes and I am considering one of them.

1) H.Couf - it's in terrible condition, parts of it are green and textured like hamburger - has anyone ever send a bad shape horn up there? Can it be done? Ball park figure?

2) Grassi, in fair condition. Some of the gold plating is coming off but there are no deep pits in the brass. Again ball park figure?

They also offer two kinds of nickel plating? Regular and stainless? What's the difference and has anyone every had experience with either?

Is there a more durable plating to be put on a horn than nickel?

Anything else I should know?

I've never done this before.

Since they don't lacquer saxes here anymore, I want something that will look nice with a minimal amount of care and have the maximum durability.

Thanks.
Notes

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
3,286 Posts
They also offer two kinds of nickel plating? Regular and stainless? What's the difference and has anyone every had experience with either?
The stainless looks more like chrome.I like the regular myself.

I have sent some saxes to Anderson, but I did all the prep work so all they had to do is plate.

·
8,537 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think I'd like the chrome look better. But I'd have to see examples of both and find out which one would be more durable under my fingers.

Notes

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts