Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

Need your help once more. Lately I've been playing out more and more. I'm having a great time and love getting a lot of gigs but I seem to be limited to being able to play songs that I am able to play in one key and use the blues/minor pentatonic scale. Ex. Someone calls "statesboro Blues" by the Allman Bros. in "D". No problem. I can tear a solo up. I can play what I hear in my head easily. Don't even have to think. Just comes right out.

The better I get, the better the bands I'm playing with. I'm starting to play w/ bands that are playing more complicated songs. I.e. - songs like "seeing things" by The Black Crowes. I have been listening heavily to the crowes for the past 6 months and can hear great lines in my head. But when it comes to soloing on the tune, I can't wrap my head around what the hell they are doing and what scale/mode to use. Same goes for country songs w/ a blues feel. They are not playing the blues scale in the key they song is in. It sounds like it's a variation.

The song that's really frustrating me right now is "Seeing Things" by The Black Crowes.

It sounds so simple compared to some other tunes I've played on, but I just can't figure it out.

Please tell me what scales/modes you would use when doing background/soloing on this tune.

Here's a link to the tune:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HjnOTU0Nexg

Thanks,

Ben P.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,640 Posts
I think you need to learn your pent major scale next. The great thing is it is the blues minor pent starting on the 6th of the major scale. So D minor blues pent is the same as F major pent with a flat three. The flat three is the flat 5 in the blues scale. That should get you started on this tune. There is more stuff going on but this will get you through the main vamp of the song until you can sort some of the other stuff out.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Hey Ben,