Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,870 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I tried out a few horns last saturday and I really like the selmer series III, I didn't buy it because i couldn't get a good deal on my ref 54. The main difference that I noticed was that the series was a bit more warmer then my ref 54.

Instead of buying new gear I decided to stay with my current set up and try to get as much as possible out of it. I got a couple of question about how I should do that.

I'm preparing myself for my audition for my college degree so you I'm basically a full time music student.

How much time would you recommend for me to spend on practicing longtones?

What kind of exercises should I focus on? (vibrato, bending, subtone, overtones, altissimo, legato/staccato articulation) And how much time should I spend on these exercises.

My influences are Richie Kamuca, Al Cohn, Bill Perkins, Zoot Sims etc so my altissimo is less important then my subtone, articulation.

Btw If you have any tips on something I forgot to ask I would like to hear it.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2013
631 Posts
working with what we have is something that we will be doing for the rest of our lives. no harm starting with music, especially when you already have a great horn to start with.

3 exercises I always recommend:
long tones.
scales.
transcriptions.

when you practice, work towards sounding great even during practice. so that it will sound great naturally when you are playing at gig. do not settle for your best efforts.

·
2,870 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
working with what we have is something that we will be doing for the rest of our lives. no harm starting with music, especially when you already have a great horn to start with.

3 exercises I always recommend:
long tones.
scales.
transcriptions.