Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys!

Am rather new to this forum, so please excuse me if I'm posting in the wrong section. Anyway to cut to the chase, I've been wanting to pick up the alto sax for a long long time, and have finally decided to get down to it (being that I now have some cash to do so). Just for background info, I'm from Singapore, so my choices are pretty much based on what's available here, and the market for second hand instruments is really small! Btw, any help particularly from fellow Singaporeans could prove to be very useful! (Though I must emphasize that I appreciate any form of help since I'm a newbie when it comes to wind instruments :p). I don't know how to play the sax as yet, so it's hard for me to test it (though I probably could ask the salesperson to do a demo). Also, I play several other instruments, with guitar as my main...if that helps in any way. Anyway, here's the options that I've been looking at in no particular order of any sort, and with some comments:

P.Mauriat - Big Band 201
Came across this one, going for about $1400 SGD (Singapore dollars), which equates to about USD$1100. Have heard of this brand, and it seems to be a decent one, though I haven't heard it played. Not sure what other goodies I might get, though I don't suppose they're that important (i.e. not too sure of the length of warranty, etc.). I believe it's made in taiwan.

Buffet Crampon - 100 series