Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all,

i'm new on this forum and a complete noob regarding saxophones. I've just started playing in 2010 and after a period of renting, I consider buying my very first own sax. I don't knwo why, but I prefer an older sax with a history over a new one.

I've found this one on the web, can anyone give some advise about this one?
The seller says it has been checked last year. Asking price 750 EUR (I'm situated in Belgium). My teacher will go along for testing the sax on leaks etc.

thanks for reading

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician
21,033 Posts
That would be from the mid to late 1920s. Comparing to US prices, it is a bit high. Some like the Kings but most prefer the Conns, Martins and Bueschers, all good horns. Example: I sell the old US horns like that for about $600US. Of course being able to try the King is a good idea.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
17,986 Posts
That is actually VERY expensive for a King that old. As Bruce says, if it is set up very well and has NO issues, and you and your teacher like it....even considering there are fewer Kings in EU than in usa, it is only worth about what Bruce mentions.

I would not go so far as to say Kings are less preferable than any of the other american vintage makes. I think a horn THAT old just isn't highly sought-after... regardless if it is a Martin, King, Buescher, Conn, or any brand really. 1920's saxes generally do not have much market value, really.

I mean, I can sell you a 50's King Zephyr for 750 eu, shipped to you. You can get a King Cleveland alto for around $400usd in great shape; and that would be a much better horn than this one.
Even arguably the BEST Alto of that period, the Conn NW-II ('Chu Berry'), in Silverplate, should only run you about what this one is priced at.....