Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there- I am the mom of a 14 year old tenor sax player. I am a music teacher myself but a string player so I'm a little lost when it comes to wind instruments. So My son has been playing for 4 years right now and he is quite good having made it into honor bands- symphonic and jazz. I've been looking into buying him a new saxophone since he is still playing his student level yamaha but until I get the money for that I was wanting to get him a new mouthpiece since I have heard that makes a big difference as well. His teacher suggested a Selmer C star. She is a clarinet player by experience so I trust her when it comes to reed instruments but I am wondering if any of you out there have found a comparable mouthpiece for less money. I also had found a website for Kessler music out of Vegas that makes custom mouthpieces for less. Does anybody out there have any experience with Kessler's and are they worth it? Also, I am guessing from the stuff I have seen that plastic is mainly a student level material whereas I would be looking for a hard rubber for an upper level player- and metal for jazz? I know just the basics and trying to learn to do the best for my son. He is really talented and I want him to have an instrument that does him justice. Any information is appreciated!

·
Registered
1,432 Posts
A C* is awfully closed on tenor. I would go a little more open. I am selling a piece that would be pretty good for students. PM me if you want some more info. Otherwise, if you want something decent that isn't too expensive I would try this one:

http://www.wwbw.com/J---D-Hite-Artist-Tenor-Saxophone-Mouthpiece-462430-i1143185.wwbw

I really do believe there is a huge gap in the well made student mouthpiece market. Unfortunately, making a decent mouthpiece costs too much compared to what students can afford or are willing to spend.

Best of luck.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member/Logician