Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a beginner and I start learning saxophone from pete thomas DVD['learn the saxophone']. Now I'm practicing for 2 hours+ a day. I use vibrato saxophone (a polycarbonate one) A1S with Yamaha4C, Rovner Dark Ligature, and Rico Jazz Select No.3.

The problem is, when I play, I don't sound like pete at all. My sound looks bad. When I move from C to high D, my sound suddenly gets blurry and inconsistent.
Actually, here is my sound recorded using my Macbook.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/13853055/test.mp3

I think it's because of my embouchure or the way I blow. I've been practicing using wind from my stomach from the beginning.

I don't have any teacher to teach me so I'm in need of advice. Sometimes when things don't seem to be improving it kinda decrease my spirit a little bit :cry:

The question is, how can I improve my tone? I want to play these 2 following styles
sharp and strong, like kaori kobayashi
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OXxxWJ-yDfM

Any advice would be greatly appreciate :bluewink:

Ps: It seems to me that because I just registered a couple of days ago, I cannot post directly without first having my post reviewed. I tried to post a similar thread once but when my youtube links didn't work and I try to edit my post, the whole thing was gone.

·
Registered
1,359 Posts
How long have you been playing, total?

Honestly it's hard to evaluate your sound b/c you're "peaking" on your mic. The gain is too high.

·
Registered
606 Posts
The #3 reed is a bit strong for a beginner. You might try #2 reeds, and see if you get a richer sound.

·
Banned
6,369 Posts
I thought the Vibrato saxes had a few design issues, mainly how soft the plastic the pads and cups are made of are making hard to create a good seal?

Anyways, judging from your clip, you're talking about middle C to middle D, aren't you.