Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, first post, I apologize in advance if this is the wrong place for such a question.

I recently came across this sax, and couldn't find any information with my limited knowledge and google searching. I know next to nothing about saxophones, but would like to expand that knowledge.

This particular sax is very small, about 19 inches from top to bottom. It's stamped/engraved "Gerard Flamal", which I couldn't find any info about (might not be exactly this as the engraving is somewhat worn, but that's as close as I can discern).

http://img265.imageshack.us/img265/5111/mysterysax1.jpg

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/5639/mysterysax2.jpg

That's about all I've got - like I said, I'm a huge newbie. I don't even know what type of sax this is, let alone anything about the manufacturer.

Any information you guys could provide would be extremely helpful.

Thanks in advance!

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2007-
5,528 Posts
First,

It's a curved soprano sax. That's why it's small. I will chime with more later.

And Welcome to SOTW!

·
5,528 Posts
On Google, there is one reference to a "Gerard Flemal" sax as being made by Keilwerth. But the link has changed and it's not in English.

·
5,528 Posts
There is a notable Jazz reed and possibly-brass playing musician named Gerard Flemal. He recorded in 1983-1985.

I also found Gerard Flemal trumpets for sale on French websites.

Is there anything on your sax to note what country it was made in? I suspect it is an Asian import marketed through Keilweth in the European market. But if it was made in Germany, it might be a real Keilwerth stencil. That might indicate it is a good quality sax.

CHECK THAT: After looking at the photos, I see nothing to indicate that it could be a German Keilwerth. But then again, I'm not a Keilwerth expert. So I still vote for Asian import with possible Keilwerth marketing ties.

·