Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a middle-aged saxophone hobbyist. I have a brand new Cannonball Raven Tenor and a mint Cannonball Big Bell Soprano. I love them both. I primarily play the tenor. I am looking to buy a good used student alto to fool around with. I am interested in a student alto because I only want to spend the least amount of money for it. Plus, during my very recent first Ebay transaction, I won and paid for a "super mint" Cannonball Gerald Albright Signature Series Alto, but never received it because the seller's account was fraudulent, which Ebay informed me of AFTER I paid the money. Ebay did give me a refund but only after I was forced to call them to inform them that they passed their promised deadline to make a decision on my claim. Accordingly, I am a little gunshy about spending more than a few dollars on Ebay transactions

With that being said, I have seen some really nice Yamaha Yas-23s and 03 Cannonball Excaliburs at very good price ranges on Ebay. I like them both but can't decide between the two. I like the YAS-23 for its at strong reputation for being an excellent and reliable student horn, used by pros, etc. But I don't like the fact that it does not have an upper F# key (I know...I'm just coo-coo like that). I like the fact that the Excalibur is a Cannonball like my other horns (and has a case matching my others) and has an upper F# key, but it does not have the reputation of the YAS-23 as far as I can tell. The other brand student horns don't interest me.

I'm not at all interested in resale value because after I get an alto, I will be done with shopping for horns for the rest of my days (famous last words, I know).

Any insight as to which I should get? Also, is there any difference between the YAS-23s made in Japan and the ones made in China? I know some of you saxophone gurus out there, could give me some direction.

Thanks!

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru