Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been playing alto for about six years now, and i need help on deciding which mouthpice i should get. I was thinking about getting a JodyJazz classic or go with a Meyer. I need help

·
Registered
1,212 Posts
I'm going to tell you what everyone else is. Try them and see which ones you like! Try as many as possible. It's also hard for people to give decent advice unless you say what your sound concept is and what you (dis)like about your current mouthpiece.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,871 Posts
I've been playing alto for about six years now, and i need help on deciding which mouthpice i should get.
Surely, if you've been playing for six years, you must already have a mouthpiece? :dontknow:

·
28,871 Posts
what are you playing now?
And what do you find wrong with it exactly. That's the reason for my facetious comment above and the only way for us to be able to help seriously.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'm a junior in high school, Im currently playing on a selmer 3c. My section leader got a JodyJazz mouthpiece and i was thinking i should upgrade my mouthpiece, but don't know which mouthpiece to go to

·
28,871 Posts
If you know of what's wrong with your Selmer, then the best thing is to let us know what that is, and what you are looking for to improve matters. I always think that when you know what is wrong, what can be improved and how, then that is the time to upgrade. Meanwhile there is nothing wrong with trying out out different mouthpieces, though if you are at an early stage of learning I think it's always best to discuss with your teacher before making any radical changes.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
6,831 Posts