Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Until yesterday I had not played a sax in over 4 years. When I moved to the Us from Belgium, my alto, two tenors and baritone got damaged in shipping. The baritone is likely a lost cause, the others have dents and minor issues. For whatever reason I decided to take out one of the tenors yesterday, an old Kohlert that had damaged upper register side keys and some more issues. I was able to bend everything back into shape so at least it is now fully functional. (although it does need new pads so if anyone can recommend a good brand please let me know)

I tried out my old mouthpieces but they are just no longer working for me, in fact I'm not sure they ever did.

When I started playing years ago, I wanted to run before I could walk. Instead of playing scales and long notes, I tried playing the cool stuff. Wrong!

I have a metal Berg Larsen 105 and a rubber or plastic Vandoren T55. The few reeds I have left are Alexander Superial 3 1/2, some Rico Royal 3 1/2 and 4 and one or two LaVoz medium soft. Obviously trying to play these now results in a lot of air with a bit of tone hidden behind it.

I want to start over and start over right with a playable mpc and reed combo so I can actually learn to play instead of trying to kill myself.

Oh and yes I bite the living daylights out of the mouthpieces.....

So out of all the things out there, what should I start out with?

Dirk

·
Registered
9,063 Posts
I would start with some softer reeds. 2.5s on these mouthpieces. Try to relax and play some long tones on them to work your embouchure back into shape. Take in a little more mouthpiece than you used to and enjoy that more of the reed is vibrating now.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,617 Posts