Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I've been playing the tenor for about 2 years, and I just purchased my sax a few months ago. It a yts-275, I got it second hand in beautiful condition. Anyway, when I was renting, I used Meyer 5m that was quite dated. Now, I am using a yamaha 4c and I find the chamber/opening thing to small. I have 150aud(115usd) maximum to spend on my mouthpiece. I use a 3 D'addario Royal, but I also use Rico and Vandoren on occasion. I looking for a smoother jazz sound that can also be used in rock. I dont mind material, and looks dont bother me.
Thanks for you advice,
Aaron

·
Registered
110 Posts
I don't know your ability level, but I think it's good for beginners to learn how to get a big sound on a small tip opening like a 4c. A lot of inexperienced players (myself included when I was in grade school) move to a bigger tip opening in an effort to get a bigger sound and end up developing a lot of bad habits like biting. My suggestion would be to take more mouthpiece in your mouth (lower reed strength if necessary) and see how little embouchure pressure you can play with, potentially pushing the mouthpiece further in on the cork if the sound is a little flatter. You'd be surprised how big a sound you can get on a 4c when you let the reed vibrate fully, and I can guarantee that it won't feel small.

That being said, assuming you're playing with good technique and truly do need something bigger you really can't go wrong with the Vandorens. They are incredibly consistent and and are all priced right around $120usd new. They have something for everyone with their models Optimum, V5, V16, JAVA, and JUMBO JAVA in order of dark to bright. I'd probably suggest a JAVA t45 for the kind of settings you described, and it wouldn't be too crazy of a leap from the 4c.

Good luck and welcome

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3