Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
2,369 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I’ve been using a just joe’s strap with the brass hook for several years and love it. But starting to be concerned the strap ring is thinning out from contact with the brass strap hook. I have vi’s that have been played a bunch prior to me getting them though, so I don’t really know if the wear occurred since I’ve been using the brass hooks. I was thinking of dipping the end of the hook in plastidip but wasn’t sure how well that might work. Anyone else have a similar concern? I really like the strap though, so hoping to keep using it.

·
Registered
2,369 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
To clarify, I am concerned the hook is causing wear on the ring. Not sure I wrote that succinctly in the original post, thx.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,300 Posts
I just bought a Just Joe's neck strap for my grandson as a gift. It came with a non-metal hook, and Joe mentioned that was the case. He did not say WHY, though, and I did not bother to ask about it.

I suppose in theory that extended metal-to-metal contact could cause wear on either the hook or the horn's ring - or both. But I would also guess that it would require EXTENSIVE use over many years. Maybe a rubberized coating on the hook would be okay - and reduce the wear, if that's what it is. DAVE

·
Registered
2,839 Posts
It happens with metal hooks after extended use. If the ring is worn by 1/3 of its diameter or more, I'd recommend you have it replaced. These are readily available and are easily replaced by a skilled technician.

·
Registered
892 Posts
I'll confirm that a metal snap-hook can wear through a strap ring. It took about 6 years of daily use for one of my old straps (NOT a Just Joe's) to nearly break through the original brass ring on my Couf Superba II alto sax. Replacing the ring was easy & inexpensive; glad I noticed the issue before catastrophic failure occurred.

·
Registered
750 Posts