Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a saxophone newbie that has become fascinated with Couesnon horns. I picked up a Monopole II alto in really excellent condition last year and have been taking lessons for a few months. I had a saved search on eBay for a tenor to match my alto and earlier this week I found the one I wanted.

Here's a link to the sale: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Couesnon-Monopole-Conservatoire-Professional-Tenor-Saxophone-/362643729053?hash=item546f402a9d%3Ag%3APVQAAOSwOCdc0sxw&nma=true&si=RQBgCjhf9C8wuuiTtUwfSsYwa80%253D&orig_cvip=true&nordt=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

The sax looks to be in pretty good condition and the tech that I worked with getting my other Monopole tuned up thought so, too. The think I'm most concerned about is that there are no accessories and I'd really like to have a neck cap (it's not really a plug on a Couesnon). Any ideas on where I could find something to protect the receiver (I think that's the correct term) and octave mechanism?

Thanks for any ideas you can offer.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone
7,431 Posts
I see, it has the neck tenon that fits over the sax tenon. you're right, you need to protect the sax tenon with a sax cap, not a neck cap. Wow - so to fit the neck, they work on the sax body tenon. Anyway, you would want a brass one, and it could easily be machined out of thick-wall brass tubing. If Saxydude would be so kind as to post a picture of his cap with an overall length, you could take that information and your sax to a machine shop where they would take a measurement of the sax tenon outside diameter, they could whip one up in a few minutes. Otherwise, good luck on finding one.

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
Well, for my Conn 6M I bought an appropriately sized piece of copper tubing at the hardware store and cut it to length. I would recommend that.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
TENOR, soprano, alto, baritone