Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The title isn't completely true because they did buy me a student horn when I was in fourth grade, but I think I'm ready to upgrade!
I've played the sax since fourth grade (alto and tenor mostly), and I'm currently a sophomore in high school and I play in the marching band, symphonic band, pit orchestra, and the top jazz band in the school. I play 1st chair alto in symphonic band and lead tenor in jazz band. I play an American Selmer student model alto (AS300) that I got in fourth grade, and a buffet crampon proffesional tenor that belongs to my school.
I'm absolutely in love with the buffet tenor. It feels super easy to play (keywise and blowing-wise) , and I wanted to be able to feel that ease when I play my alto.
I asked my parents if I could get a professional saxophone and their answer was direct and to the point......No. I told them that i felt my alto was holding me back and even showed them how much easier I am able to play the buffet tenor, but their answer was still no.
I searched the web for ways to get a better sound, and many people said that upgrading my mouthpiece and ligature would be my best option so I saved up lunch money, mowed lawns, etc...., and I bought an otto link tone edge 7* mouthpiece, rovner ligature, and some vandoren 2.5 reeds (both javas and blue box). This did help, but I still didn't feel that ease I felt when playing the buffet tenor.
This long story aside, I feel like getting a professional horn would improve my playing by leaps and bounds.
How can I convince my parents to get me a professional saxophone?

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
13,220 Posts