Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all ! First post, first Saxophone first need for advice! I just bought the Yani ( please let me use this abbreviated name for my Yanagisawa A-901 even though i am totally nobe !) and i am looking forward to receive it !
As i told you i am a beginner and next week i will have my first lesson. Maybe its a bit early question - taking into account that i havent played the instrument
yet- but will i be able to play without so much effort with the Yani 5 hard rubber mouthpiece or i should buy a "beginner" one? Lets say S-80, 4c Yamaha or whatever other?
Also whatever you recommend please combine it with a "beginner" reed!

Thanks in advance for your help and welcome me in your excellent community!:)

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
14,268 Posts
kos: Welcome to SOTW . . . and congrats on the new saxophone. I think you've chosen the best-made saxophone on the market today.

The new Yanagisawas come with a stock Yanagisawa mouthpiece and many players like them. I don't, but that doesn't matter.

That mouthpiece should serve you well until you develop some playing skill . . . and might even work for you as an advanced player. We all react differently to mouthpieces. I wouldn't be too concerned about mouthpieces just yet. DAVE

·
Distinguished SOTW Member and Forum Contributor
4,379 Posts
The stock Yani mouthpiece is a good one--much better than the ones that come with most saxes, but not too open for a beginner. Your teacher will recommend a reed, but if you're eager to get one now you might try a Rico 2 1/2.

Congratulations on your choice of sax. You'll be very happy with the A901.

·
The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum
27,650 Posts
kos2797 said:
I just bought the Yani ( please let me use this abbreviated name for my Yanagisawa A-901 even though i am totally nobe !)
Hey Kos, welcome!