Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,640 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Barone Vintage Tenor

After some serious thinking and a trust in Phil that I gained after getting a Hollywood from him about a year and a half ago I pulled the trigger on a Vintage tenor. I have been in my sax cave for the last week and a half getting to know my new horn.

For those of you that don't know me I will give you a little back ground on my experience as a player. I have been playing sax for about 23 years. I consider myself to be an above average player that has had the good fortune of making a living playing for most of my adult life. I'm nothing special but I have my moments. I have toured full time in the pop realm but now I teach privately and do studio work when I can get it. Every now and then I will do shows or a small tour as a sub. I jam with some local guys at the moment just for fun. I have been playing a Cannonball Big Bell Global Series tenor which was their top of the line offering when I bought it new for 2400 dollars at Union Street Music in San Francisco when it was actually on Union Street. I play a Barone Hollywood 7* on tenor for everything. So lets get into it shall we!

Service. What can I say, it was top notch. Not only did Phil talk to me at great length on several occasions about his horns, he also shipped it out to me quickly in the middle of the mountains of snow he was/is buried in. He was quick to say if I didn't like it send it back for a full refund. Well I love it.

Ergonomics. The ergos are very similar to my Cannonball but the left hand feels a tiny bit more twisted to the right than the Cannonball. I would say it took me about an hour with a metronome before I felt completely comfy. This is a slick feeling horn. It is also lighter than my Cannonball which is a Nickel plate.

Build. This thing is solid. I took it to the guys at Horn Improvement in
Orange County and they really liked everything about it.