Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a brand-new newbie (as in I've had the sax in my possession for less than a week) and my lip is killing me. It's fustrating because I'll start practising and when I'm finally getting the hang of something (after about 15 minutes) my bottom lip starts to hurt where my teeth sink in. I'll practise another 5 minutes and it becomes unbearable... and I end up having teeth marks there for a couple of hours. Then later that day I try again but my lip becomes sorer quicker. Is this normal?

It occured to me that i might be putting to much pressure on my bottom lip so I experimented by moving my mouth up and down the mouthpiece and adding less/more pressure, rolling more or less of my lip. Between low and middle C, the way I have my embouchure produces the best sound, and above middle C that is the only way I don't squeak or squeal. If I apply any less pressure I get a squeak or some kind of a fog-horn-vibrato type sound.

I think i have pretty sharp teeth too :baby:... is it kinda like when you play guitar your fingers kill for a while until you develop calouses?

Any advice is appreciated :)

·
Registered
190 Posts
your teeth should not be cutting into your bottom lip. Look in youtube for Jerry Bergonzi's demo on mouthpiece placement.

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
13,546 Posts
What tip mouthpiece and reed are you playing.

It is way too early to think about this but my bottom teeth were pretty sharp, my dentist smoothed them out with a dental rotary tool.

...I didnt do it my first weeks of playing though so dont run to your dentist yet! Make sure its not your technique.

·
Premium Member
26,254 Posts
Take off the mouthpiece and reed from the horn. Play the mouthpiece alone. You should be getting an A concert or below if alto, or a G concert or below if tenor.