Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ive been playing for about 8 months now and im wanting to buy my first pro model...however i live in the back of beyond so trying these out would be really difficult...my question is can i pretty much expect to be getting an A1 Tenor whichever i decide upon?...also in your opinions which would be a good mouthpiece to compliment either one?...i know this is a subjective thing, just wanted to read some opinions..thx

·
Distinguished SOTW Member, Forum Contributor 2016
4,881 Posts
If you are that far away from a store or a tech I would suggest a Japanese pro horn... and a Vandoren V16 HR mpc.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
not really interested in a Japanese make (Yani or Yamy)...they are fantastic machines in their own right but im wanting something a bit more different in sound & looks...ive been researching a lot in the past month or 2 and the Keilwerths & Rampones just appeal to me more (from what ive read)

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
sorry forgot to mention price range..im wanting to spend about £3.5 - 4k on both the Sax & mpc.

·
Grafton alto | Martin Comm III tenor
28,919 Posts
not really interested in a Japanese make (Yani or Yamy)...they are fantastic machines in their own right but im wanting something a bit more different in sound & looks...ive been researching a lot in the past month or 2 and the Keilwerths & Rampones just appeal to me more (from what ive read)
Really you need to try a saxophone, you can't go by research, unless that is playing research. If it was me and that was my area of budget I'd go for the R & C or maybe a Bauhaus Walstein M2. I currently use an R & C Two Voices as my main tenor, it's very different from any other horn I've tested.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6