Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I've been playing my Yamaha YTS-275 for a couple of years now on the original 4C, currently on Ricco Royal 3 1/2 reeds only because someone gifted me a box, but was previously playing 3's.

Sound wise I keep coming back to Stan getz, especially the buttery smooth sound of 'The girl From Ipanema'... that's the kind of sound I'd like to go towards.

What mouthpiece would you recommend?

Thanks.

P.S. I found the recording I had in mind on youtube....
...love that sound!

·
Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru
38,888 Posts
first of all, mouthpieces are not things that need “ upgrading” as if there is a natural, unavoidable, progression within the mouthpieces family, from cheap to expensive, although, yes, we’ve all done this. It is a fool’s errand and an expensive one to hopscotch from one thing to another.

The mouthpiece bandwagon is an expensive way to do something that might be way easier than you think.

I am trying to save you some money and tell you something that someone should have told me some time ago, when I too did that.

It’ is not the price of material of any mouthpiece but it is what you do with them.

What makes you think that you couldn’t achieve a Stan Getz (ish) sound with your current mouthpiece? There is nothing “ wrong” with your mouthpiece which in itself would require an upgrade.

Is there anything that you are missing?

The sound of any player starts in his mind, then the mouth and throat follow the mind and produce a sound that is in the mind.

The mouthpiece is only a facilitator.

“ IT” doesn’t make the sound or all the people with the same mouthpiece would have the same sound.

So, first start “ Stangetzing” your sound on your mouthpiece than you will MAYBE, if needed, progress to another mouthpiece.