Sax on the Web Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just 3 days ago I recieved my Phil Barone Vintage tenor and was much pleased to find it a way better horn than I expected. You guys have written a lot good things about these horns, but one thing is reading and listening to others play the horns - a completely different story is to try one for your self.

The first thing I noticed was how easy it is to play right out of the box. Very good ergonomics. Very good response and intonation (tested every tone from top to bottom with a tuner - and all but middle G was spot on) (G was an 1/8 to low) and hardly anything you would hear when playing - well at least not me... others might notice it.

Secondly as a tech I gave the horn a thorough look over, and found it to be in really great shape, and the factory setup was above average. Only 2 very fine adjustments was needed on pads. On a personal note, and this is my very own personal note, I find, that factories tend to sink the tone hole edges to deep into the pads, but nothing I noticed when playing the horn.

The overall finish of the horn is absolutely smashing. Phil... you can raise the price a grand and it will still be a killer deal in terms of what you get for your money.

The gold plate is perfect, and I have had a few plated in my time to spot a great job. It looks, feels and plays to my standards perfect...

I can highly recommend this model - the Vintage.

I hope we can get some more Barones to Denmark!

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
cool, i'm thinking about buying one. Don't you want to post a recording?

·
Registered
1,339 Posts
Phil... you can raise the price a grand and it will still be a killer deal in terms of what you get for your money.
But Phil, please don't.

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
But Phil, please don't.
agree, people are just stupid.....F***, with all respect...