Sax on the Web Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a freshman music education major at a large state university that shall remain nameless. Within it, the music department is pretty small. My saxophone studio is about 15 people, most of whom are music ed majors, and it seems that many/all of them are crazy about playing saxophone. I don't mean it's just that they really like it. I mean that I feel like IT'S ALL THEY EVER DO. Some claim that they practice 5 hours a day (and I don't know how they even have time for that as ed majors, because I don't unless I don't ever want to sleep). And sometimes it seems as though they look down on me for not wanting to practice that much, too. Even our professor told us, when asked during a masterclass how much he practiced as an undergrad, that he started off as a freshman/sophomore practicing 2-4 hours a day and by the time he was a senior, practiced 6-7 hours a day. Granted he was a performance major, but still.

I really want to teach music - preferably high school band - and think it is one of the few careers I will be happy doing. But one of the reasons I want to teach band is because SAXOPHONE ISN'T MY WHOLE LIFE, and I never want it to be, which I realized after I got to college. I have other interests, too. I want to have a life...to me, doing nothing but practicing isn't really a life. Am I in the wrong line of work if I only want to practice 2-3 hours a day? Is it typical for college saxophone studios to spend this much time practicing? What, if anything, should I do about it? Will the other saxophonists hate me if I don't practice more?

·
Registered
575 Posts
2-3 sounds healthy for a music ed major. Don't believe the hypers. I remember undergrad performance majors that would eat cheetos, check email and chat it up in the practice room hallways for hours on end and claim to be "practicing."

·
Distinguished SOTW Member
2,870 Posts